Applications for a Permit to Purchase (PTP) a handgun or a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) are available at the Records Section of the Farmington Public Safety Department, 8:00am to 4:00pm Monday through Friday.
An individual must apply to any local police or sheriff's department for a License to Purchase a Pistol prior to obtaining a pistol, whether by purchase, gift, loan, etc.
The police authority will check for any criminal record at both the state and national level.
The License to Purchase a Pistol form must be completed even though the applicant may already have possession of a pistol, such as through an inheritance. Federal firearms licensed dealers are not exempt from this section of the law and must also get a license any time they purchase/acquire a pistol from an individual or another gun dealer.
A License to Purchase a Pistol is valid for 30 days to purchase a pistol. The seller must sign the license and keep one copy for his/her records. An individual must return the return the remaining copies of the license to the police department where the permit was obtained. Do not bring the pistol with you. Farmington requires all unused license to purchase forms be returned to them for record keeping purposes.
The following will prohibit you from obtaining a PTP:
- Am a current resident of the State of Michigan . (A valid Michigan Driver's license or state id is required at the time of application.)
- Am a citizen of the United States and a legal resident of the State of Michigan. (Or a resident legal alien, residing in the State of Michigan, at least 90 days prior to the purchase of a firearm. )
- Have not been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than I year. (This does not apply to a conviction that has been expunged or set aside, or for which the person has been pardoned or has his or her civil rights restored unless the expungement, order, or pardon expressly provides that the person shall not ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms. This also does not include a state offense classified as a misdemeanor and punishable by imprisonment for 2 years or less.)
- Have not been adjudged insane in this state or elsewhere unless restored to sanity by court order. Am not under an order of involuntary commitment in an inpatient or outpatient setting due to mental illness.
- Have not been adjudged legally incapacitated in this state or elsewhere unless legal capacity has been restored by order of the court.
- Am eighteen ( 18) years of age or
- Am twenty one (21) years of age if purchasing from a seller licensed pursuant 10 section 928 of title 18
of the United States Code, 18 U.S.C. 923.
Have not been convicted of an assaultive offense related to Domestic Violence.